In this post, we mention a brief introduction to the Constitution of Pakistan and its amendments.

The constitution of Pakistan is the supreme law of Pakistan. It was created with the help all the parties at the time on April 19th,1973 and later ratified on August 14th, 1973.

Since the constitution is not a perfect law, it requires amendments overtime to make it compatible and updated with today’s needs. By now, there have been 26 amendments in the Constitution of Pakistan. Below is a nice table with all the amendments to date:

I have given a short talk on the Amendments of Pakistan and their links are below.

Constitutional Amendments:-
1-Redefined the boundaries of Pakistan and removed references to East Pakistan.1974
2-Defined a Muslim and declared the status of Ahmadis as minority and ‘non-Muslim’.1974
3-Extended the period of preventive detention.1975
4-Decreed additional seats for minorities, it also deprived courts of the power to grant bail to any person detained under any preventive detention.1975
5-Widened the scope of restriction on the High Courts. 1976
6-Provided that Chief Justice of Supreme Court will be retired at the age of 65 and High Court judges at age 62.1976
7-Enables the Prime Minister to obtain a vote of confidence of the people of Pakistan.1977
8-Changed Pakistan’s government from a Parliamentary system to a Semi-presidential system by giving the President a number of additional powers.1985
9-Bill to impose Shariah law as the supreme law of land. The bill was passed by Senate but could never be passed by National Assembly owing to the latter’s dissolution.1985
10- Fixed the interval period between sessions of the National Assembly to not exceed 130 days. 1987
11-Revision of the reserved seats for women in the National and the provincial assemblies. The bill was withdrawn in 1992.1989
12-Created Speedy Trial Court for 3 years.1991
13-Stripped the President of Pakistan of his reserve power to dissolve the National Assembly of Pakistan, and thereby triggering new elections and dismissing the Prime Minister.1997
14-Allowed members of parliament to be dismissed if they defect.1997
15-Bill to impose Shariah law as supreme law of land. Was never passed.1998
16-Increased the term appointed for quota system as per 1973 Constitution from 20 to 40 years.1999
17-Made changes dealing with the office of the President and the reversal of the effects of the Thirteenth Amendment.2003
18- Removed the power of President of Pakistan to dissolve the Parliament unilaterally. 2010
19-Provided for the appointment of the Judges of the Supreme Court of Pakistan and made amendments in the number of members of the parliamentary committee for the appointment of Chief Electoral Officers at Election Commission of Pakistan.2010
20- For Free and Fair Elections. 2012
21-For Speedy Trial Military Courts to deal with terrorism.2015
22-ECP powers deputed to Chief Election Commissioner2016
23-The 23rd Amendment was passed to re-establish the military courts for further two years till 6 January 2019. In 2015, National Assembly passed the 21st Amendment and created the military courts for the period of 2 years. The period of two years was expired on 6 January 2017 hence this 23rd Amendment was passed to re-establish the military courts for further two years till 6 January 2019. At the end of this period all the amendments will be expired/removed automatically.2017
24-Reallocation of National Assembly seats among federating units and allowing election authorities to update boundaries of constituencies based on provisional results of 2017 Census of Pakistan.2017
25-Merges Federally Administered Tribal Areas with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa2018
26- The seats of tribal districts in NA will retain at 12 while their seats in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa have been increased to 24 from 16.
Watch about Constitution of Pakistan’s Amendments:

26th Amendment of Constitution of Pakistan 1973:


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *